The 5 things a Virtual Assistant should not forget

Recently, after 3 years of being a virtual assistant, I had a major setback in my office.  Being human, I instantly got upset, depressed to a certain degree started to wonder if all this hard work was worth it.

After a lot of thinking, chats with friends and family, I came to the decision that being a VA is worth it.  I love the flexibility, I love meeting new clients and taking on new projects every week! However there were 5 specific things that I learnt I must NOT DO in my home office:

journal-791286_1280

Don’t forget to take breaks

I used to sit 12-15 hours behind my laptop working, networking and researching and only taking breaks to visit the lady’s room or to go make food or a cup of coffee. (I even ate lunch at my desk) I thought I could pull it off with no serious repercussions.  This was easy for me, UNTIL my body starting telling me otherwise.  I got sick, my eye sight got worse and the headaches were bad!  I started taking regular breaks and it took me awhile before I was back to normal again.

Don’t put all your eggs in one basket

Clients can get very demanding from time to time and you do get your favourite clients every now and then.  However devoting all your time to one client can be detrimental to your business.  Make sure that you plan properly and give each client, old and new, a fair amount of attention.

Don’t forget to make time for your business

You are so busy looking after your clients that you always put your own admin to the side.  This is something you need to train yourself not to do.  Switch off all distractions and take an hour a day and look after yourself and your business.

Don’t forget to update your profile

Every project you do – is a new skill you can add to your list.  As you do work, remember to ask for recommendations, either in in writing or on your website, so that other potential clients can see what it is like to work with you.  It is a great free learning tool for you as well to see what you did right and what you did wrong and how you can make your services better in the future.

Don’t give up

Being a Virtual Assistant is by no means an easy task.  Everything you do is a test and at times it can be impossible to stay positive.  Join forums, Facebook and LinkedIn groups with like-minded professionals – guaranteed someone out there has experienced the same thing you are going through and will be able to help you!

So after much thought, I am going to stick with my Virtual Assistant business and make sure that I stick with the 5 “rules” that I have mentioned above.

What are some of the things you have learnt NOT TO DO in your virtual assistant business?

Kelly is the Owner and full time Virtual Assistant at The Admin's Niche. The Admin's Niche offers a wide range of services both locally and globally. Kelly has a BA Degree in Corporate Communication, an ICDL and has attained her Certified Administrative Professional Certification and has successfully completed the Organisational Management specialty exam.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in For my fellow VAs

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We keep it secret

Any confidential or proprietary information pertaining to the clients of The Admin's Niche will stay just that – Confidential!

The Admin's Niche shall not directly or indirectly solicit or attempt to solicit any of The Admin's Niche's client's customers/suppliers other than on behalf of client.

