ASK

2013 - 1 (4)The beginning of 2014 brings many new and exciting things. One of the exciting things happening for me as The Admin’s Niche is taking part in a VA Blogging Challenge. Over the next couple of months, I will be writing blogs about a variety of topics from A-Z that effect every VA around the world.

When I started my VA Business, although I had a lot of knowledge about the working world, I still had a lot of questions to go with it.

This brings me to my first topic for the blogging challenge:

ASK

  • Ask for Support: Whether you are starting your VA business or starting a long and difficult project, as for support. Whether it is your partner, family, friends or VA colleagues, support can be the one thing that keeps you sane.
  • Ask for Help: Sometimes the day is too busy to even think or breath. By asking for help, you can meet deadlines and keep the quality of your work at a high standard.
  • Ask for Clarification: When taking on a new job or new client, remember to make sure you find out all the details upfront:

– When do they need the project completed by?
– What format do they need it in?
– Spelling requirements (US or UK)
– What form of communication do they prefer (Email, Skype, Freelancer sites, Phone etc)
– What software will you need to complete the project?

  • Ask for Information: When you are unsure about a project or how software works, there is no shame in asking “How does this work”. 9 times out of 10, someone else has/had the same problem! This can save you time, frustration and on top of it all you will learn something new – which in the future will again save you time.

Being a part of an active support system, such as TAVASA or the Virtual Assistant Tips & Tricks group on Facebook, you are encouraged to ask for help and in turn you get to help others.

If you would like to be part of this challenge, it’s not too late, email me on kelly@theadminsniche.com and I will add you to the group.

REMEMBER:

ASK, there is no such thing as a stupid question!

Kelly is the Owner and full time Virtual Assistant at The Admin's Niche. The Admin's Niche offers a wide range of services both locally and globally. Kelly has a BA Degree in Corporate Communication, an ICDL and has attained her Certified Administrative Professional Certification and has successfully completed the Organisational Management specialty exam.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in VA Blogging Challenge 2014
6 comments on “ASK
  1. Hi Kelly, I agree completely with this. Firstly from a client’s perspective it’s much better that the service provider ask until they know exactly what’s going on, and from your perspective, it saves you having to redo work later on! Nice topic, I shared on my facebook. Gaynor Paynter, author “Working From Home as a Transcriptionist in SA”

  2. I think asking questions is one of the most important aspects of running a service based business. Great post!

  3. susanmershon says:

    Great post! I love that you remind others to Ask for help, for clarification or ? I’ve found that a lot of people are afraid to ask questions because they fear of how it might look. I am always asking questions – you can learn so much by doing so.

  4. damarias says:

    It used to be hard for me to ask for support, help or clarification. I was afraid that I would be seen as not smart enough, not paying attention enough, unable to cope to work or life challenges or something. Thank God I outgrew that. These days I’m able to say, please say it again, or please explain what you mean or please help me? The inner me still cringes a bit sometimes, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do

  5. I love this! I tell this to my children all the time. Great post!

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We keep it secret

Any confidential or proprietary information pertaining to the clients of The Admin's Niche will stay just that – Confidential!

The Admin's Niche shall not directly or indirectly solicit or attempt to solicit any of The Admin's Niche's client's customers/suppliers other than on behalf of client.

